Delayed Responsibility

I Shouldn't Be Gaming Right Now… But I Am!

Blog Banter: Gamer Stereotypes

Posted by deckard47 on March 27, 2008

Welcome, welcome to the 3rd installment of Blog Banter, the monthly blogging extravaganza headed by bs angel! Blog Banter involves our cozy community of enthusiastic gaming bloggers, a common topic, and a week to post articles pertaining to said topic. The results are quite entertaining and can range from deep insight to ROFLMAO. Any questions about Blog Banter should be directed here. Check out other Blog Banter articles at the bottom of this post!

I like to think of myself as a pretty atypical gamer, but even I can see that I fall into several stereotypes. The most obvious (and possibly the most prevalent, but I can’t be sure) would be the stereotype of the person who spends a lot of time gaming when they could be doing other, more “important” things (homework, job searching, being manly out in the wilderness, going to seksy parties, etc.). On the other hand, I go to parties, I see the sun when I am forced to go to classes, and I do just enough work to get by. That still leaves us with the “willing to game when most people would go do normal stuff” accusation.

In this area, I think that I’m pretty much guilty as charged. For instance, if my friends are hanging around, doing something possibly interesting, and I’m in the middle of a tricky battle in BGII or Oblivion or something, chances are, I’ll forget about whatever they’re doing, and concentrate on kicking some ass. Likewise, it is perfectly normal for me to spend an hour or two playing Halo 3, not because I really want to, but because if I didn’t, I might have to work. The only places that are really off-limits when it comes to gaming are work and road trips. Even worse, whenever friends come over to see me from somewhere far away (i.e. not from down the hall), one of the exciting activities I often ply them with is video games. Of course, many of my friends suffer from the same malady that I do, so they don’t mind the frequent Rock Band and Smash Brothers games.

Still, I keep the lights on most of the time, my room is clean and bright, and I don’t have perpetual Cheeto hands, so I’m not a complete creep. Then again, I think that people who do stuff I don’t do are silly, so I’m quite happy with my various oddities, and often quite amused by everyone else’s. That is, unless their habits are like mine, and then they’re just weird. Obviously. Rock on, mildly weird, mildly obsessed gamers, and anybody else who wants to have a little fun. I’ll take this stereotype any day.

Other Banterers:

The Average Gamer, Silvercublogger, shinybento, Unfettered Blather, Boom Stick Brigade, Gamer Unit, Zath!, Man Bytes Blog, Game Couch, Video Game Sandwich, Hawty McBloggy

3 Responses to “Blog Banter: Gamer Stereotypes”

  1. silvercube said

    Lol, the cheeto hands! Gross.
    Very nice, deckard. 🙂

  2. deckard47 said

    Yeah, I think your answer was better, cube, but I stand by my fear of Cheeto hands. Dorito hands, on the other hand…

  3. Sooooo…. maybe instead of playing halo 3 today I should be working huh… I’ll consider it.

Leave a comment