Delayed Responsibility

I Shouldn't Be Gaming Right Now… But I Am!

Borderlaaaaands!!!

Posted by deckard47 on October 20, 2009

Just pretend I’m a star ship captain marooned deep beneath the surface of a dying planet, and that I can’t play the PC version of Borderlands till next week. Then weep for me.

Although, you don’t have to weep that hard, because Among Thieves and Torchlight will keep me company until then. The single player campaign of Among Thieves finished, I have now turned to multiplayer. This doesn’t mean I haven’t forgotten the SP though. On the contrary, a new (“Grueling?”) campaign has already commenced. I expect to relish every line of dialogue and every cutscene twice as much. That’s right. I bet you thought I couldn’t relish anything that much. You were wrong. Silly you!

On a less self-congratulatory note, Torchlight may be available to me tonight (or tomorrow, you know how Steam lies about release dates). I’m quite excited to play it, as my time with it at E3 was both fun and far too brief. Now that I think about it, the game’s art and style are actually quite similar to Borderlands. It’s fitting that two games happy to sport bright, extravagant art should drop within a weak of each other. Excellent. I suspect I’ll be playing the steampunk-y alchemist or the gun-toting Vanquisher. And I will absolutely have a little kitty cat companion. I am overly excited about that last bit, of course. Cat!

Oh, and I would be remiss (God, I say that too much) if I didn’t mention this: I played my first co-op Among Thieves last night, and it was amazing. Brinstar, Simon, and I played Gold rush, Onslaught (or whatever it’s called), and the more story-like co-op. It was incredibly fun. I hope I can entice them back for the same soon, along with others. It is really quite fun, especially Gold Rush. Those damn soldiers keep choking me to death though! I especially appreciate the choking/death indicators. They’re like Left for Dead‘s damage indicators, only Uncharted-y. Awesome.

Oh, and can I say that I enjoy the mini-stories in the co-op missions? They’re awesome! I mean, the stories are alright, but there’s more of the banter. Also I love how Elena yells that she’s “GOT THE TREASURE!” I have no idea why she is so excited. I guess it’s treasure, right?

Also, look, a new link up there with the links! It’s called Tap-Repeatedly, and I’ve only read a few posts back, but I think I like it.

Finally, this post is dedicated to Owen, who can’t play Among Thieves right now (haw haw!) and is instead playing KotoR. I’m so proud of him!

9 Responses to “Borderlaaaaands!!!”

  1. Eleniel said

    “Also I love how Elena yells that sheโ€™s โ€œGOT THE TREASURE!โ€ ”

    I find the exclamations to be hilarious, for some reason. It’s such a nice touch, and certainly helpful, but also kind of weird.

    The best is when you’re playing as the Villains and score a point in Gold Rush (Russian accent:) “WE SCORED!” Are you playing basketball or something, lol?

    • deckard47 said

      Yes, well a lot of the multiplayer shouts are funny. The same villains (when picking up a new gun) do the whole “Just what I needed” thing in a Boris and Natascha accent.

      Also, in co-op, when you beat the Nepal square mission, Drake acts like a complete child when he picks up the gold, in a weirdly out of character way. It’s like someone told them to play childish versions of themselves.

  2. Brendan said

    I think I am doing a very similar thing in single player for Uncharted2. I finished it on Monday night, then started the game again as soon as I got home Tuesday afternoon.

    The dialogue is truly brilliant. This is still something new to me as I only played through Drake’s Fortune for the first time last week (I finished it the same day i started Uncharted2!). I love how the dialogue hints so discretely at what is going to happen down the track. It all just wras together so expertly.

    I haven’t really touched multiplayer yet as I do not have a headset for the PS3, but it looks very interesting. Perhaps I finally have a reason to pick up a headset. That said, i think I could play single player over and over and over and not get bored of it anytime soon (read: until Borderlands comes out tomorrow… on console! :p).

    • deckard47 said

      I actually haven’t been back to Uncharted 1 since my first triple playthrough, but in my head, 2 is better. Don’t know if that’s actually true. The multiplayer is quite amazing. According to Simon it’s nothing we haven’t seen before in 3rd person action online shooters, but I’ve never played any of those before (no Gears of War for me), so maybe I’m just seeing it for the first time.

      Oh, and Borderlands is going to be amazing.

  3. Brinstar said

    It was great playing with you last night. ๐Ÿ™‚ I had fun as well. I hadn’t played the other co-op/story-ish map (in The Village) so that was good fun.

    Onslaught –> Survival ๐Ÿ™‚

    Gold Rush is good fun. I think I’ve been able to go 10 rounds in Gold Rush before it got to difficult.

    I don’t play online multiplayer console games. Uncharted 2 is actually the first online multiplayer game I’ve played on the console. All my online gaming experience has been with MMORPGs and the like. Uncharted 2 is really great. I haven’t had many technical issues at all, and I think it’s polished, though again, this isn’t saying much since I don’t have much experience.

    @ Brendan: I personally do not use a headset with anyone that I don’t know, and I mute absolutely everyone unless I’m acquainted with them. From all the horror stories I’ve read, being a woman and playing online games with voice chat really sucks, and I’m not eager to wade into those waters. My experience playing online w/o voice chat and w/o hearing anyone has been just fine. I probably would not have stuck playing online multiplayer this long had I been able to hear and talk to others via voice chat.

    • deckard47 said

      Uncharted 2 really is smooth (online). The only thing I can compare it to is Call of Duty 4 (equally smooth and optimized), but I’m really bad at CoD4. And to be honest, I can’t see how I’d ever enjoy most other 3rd shooters as much. When we were playing co-op, it was pretty impressive how you could use the verticality of the levels to great effect (especially the middle village missions).

      As for the other players… I mute every single person as soon as I come into a match. It saves me from the usual strange screeching, babies, and loud music, and I can avoid hearing it when other players start insisting that you are, in fact, both black and homosexual (the scariest thing to them, it would seem). It must be about a hundred times worse if they *know* you’re a woman.

    • deckard47 said

      Also, we should get Alex and Simon and play 4 player some time. It seems like that’s the sweet spot for co-op and the like.

  4. Sam said

    Pizimp, motherfucker. I’m a zabaac pro, or whatever they call it. And let me tell you a little something: I don’t care how late I get back tonight. /I will play uncharted before I sleep./

Leave a Reply

 
