Delayed Responsibility

I Shouldn't Be Gaming Right Now… But I Am!

Are you looking for Nathan Drake?

Posted by deckard47 on September 21, 2009

Of course the answer is yes. Wish he’d shave though.

It’s Uncharted 2 news/demo time again, and you know what that means! It means that way too many people are showing up here by searching for various versions of Nathan Drake. Which is not a bad thing, really. I mean, it’s a possibility that on the day of the game’s release, I may be mysteriously, suddenly, horribly ill. So ill that I have to stay home and fight Owen for the controller. Maybe. Haven’t decided yet.

Anyway, because I’m the giving type, I thought I’d link to this amusing, possibly diverting article over at Eurogamer. It’s part of their “tech side” of games series of articles, and they examine the new Uncharted 2 multiplayer content. Wonderfully, they find it to be quite awesome. Really, it’s not too exciting an article, but it’s nice to know that while I’m making gleeful noises and making Nate jump in and out of pools of water, someone else is paying attention to something serious about the game. Although, to be honest, I might be making on of the be-hatted enemies roll around in the water. I’m not picky.

What you should take away from this post (aside from the fact that I am not in fact giving anyone anything: I am a liar) is that today is the day when the mostly new Uncharted 2 multiplayer content drops. Considering I’ve only ever played the crumbly courtyard mission at E3 (where they wouldn’t let me invert. What the fuck), I’m looking forward to it. I expect to get my ass handed to me by mostly everyone, but hopefully a couple of rambunctious young sexual harassment-types will accost me. Because, you know, I miss those guys. I miss them as they hoot and croon their strange, alien insults accross CoD4 maps. It’s been too long boys.

3 Responses to “Are you looking for Nathan Drake?”

  1. Brendan said

    I have little in the way of intelligent comment to respond to this as, tragically and embarrasingly, I have not played through Uncharted as of yet. I admit my reasons are purely based on the cover-art reminding me of a SNES Indiana Jones ripoff. However! My brother always speaks highly of it, as do you, and Uncharted 2 does look incredible, so I shall borrow it off my brother in the near future.

    However, in response to your remarks about the young harassment-types on CoD4: When my brother and I play public games on Halo3, we have (somewhat vocal) bets to see if we can guess which players will be wearing the horrible samurai armour based on the number of unpronouncable squiggly characters in their LIVE name. We usually don’t have to check if we are right or not, because we know we are right when the party in question responds with “Fuck you, faggot.”

    • Brendan said

      Oh, dammit, I forgot! The whole point of that irrelevant comment was to say thanks for dropping over and bothering to read my post on my blog. So, thanks!

      Unfortunately, there is little else over there worth reading… I love my games, I love my writing, but I have been failing at actively combinging the two. But hopefully, knowing now that people actually drop by sometimes, I will be motivated to keep it running a bit better. 🙂

      • deckard47 said

        That does help. It’s nice knowing that people who are *not* related to me by blood read my blog. It definitely means I try harder :).

        Yeah, that Ninja armor… It’s a strange experience, and I really can’t compare it to anything else: it’s like you’re thrown into a pack of animals, none of whom trust you, and all of whom want to dick each other over. Except wild dogs don’t harass each other for being “gay.” So our species loses.

        But thank you for commenting, truly! I really liked that piece, I’ll be waiting for your next one.

Leave a Reply

 
