Delayed Responsibility

I Shouldn't Be Gaming Right Now… But I Am!

Tormented…

Posted by deckard47 on August 22, 2009

Yes, for the first time, I’m playing Planescape: Torment. I had to fiddle with the resolution a bit, because in its original form,  it hurt my eyes. Now, I’m wandering the mortuary, opening desks and the like. It’s interesting, to see this and compare to it to other Infinity engine games. Some things are the same (certain sounds and voices, I think), while other things are refreshingly different from the BG/IWD mold I’m so familiar with.

So far, the pathfinding is absolutely atrocious (although it is an Infinity Engine game, so what exactly was I expecting?), the Nameless One gets his ass kicked in combat a lot, and I really like the journal entries and most of the writing. Amusingly, he insists on saying “journal updated” whenever he writes in it… I’m using it to annoy Owen.

I’ve died once already, which (aside from returning me to my mortuary slab) resets a lot of the people I’ve killed. Strange. I guess I’ll post more later, but for now, it’s interesting, and hopefully the story and characters will kick off soon. Journal Updated!

Leave a Reply

 
