Delayed Responsibility

I Shouldn't Be Gaming Right Now… But I Am!

Age of Pirates 2: City of Abandoned Ships

Posted by deckard47 on June 24, 2009

The best title for a game ever? I think so. Apparently it awaits me at the apartment, but I thought I would relate to you Owen’s increasingly excited emails re the game and its arrival. He starts like this: “Age of Pirates 2:  City of Abandoned Ships (the coolest title ever for a video game).” Indeed. Then, “This looks so sweet.  Still installing, but the manual is old school.  And it has a map.  With blood on it.” That does sound sweet. But wait. There is more: “It’s still installing.  And I have to go to lunch.  But, hell.  The manual is like 100 pages.  It has a section called “your ship and her shape.”  You can hire all kinds of different officers.  You can have captives.  You can set everyone’s pay.  It has separate “health” and “life” stats.” Well, I can’t argue with that, because (as you may not know?) one of the things that keeps me up at night is how manuals today are absolutely shitty. They’re tiny and stupid and add nothing to the game. The Red Faction manual makes me want to cry, it’s so bare-bones. Even big RPGs can’t be bothered to have thick manuals anymore. Need I remind of you of the absolutely fantastic Baldur’s Gate II manual, practically a D&D Sourecbook in its own right? Back to our reporter, in the field: “There’s a “nations relations matrix” where you can see the relation of one nation to any other at any time.” Well, that last bit isn’t as exciting, but it still sounds cool.

Luckily for me, I get off work at 3:30 today, so I’ll be getting some extra pirates time, if he isn’t hogging the computer. I fully expect our awesome rig to handle this game easily. I’m happy to bring you this blurb from the game’s site:

New P.I.R.A.T.E.S. roleplaying system, with the following characteristics, Power, Impression, Reaction, Authority, Talent, Endurance, Success.

I fully expect this game to be fiddly and awesome and obtuse, and I’m going to enjoy every minute of that confusion, and tell you about how great it is, and how you can take your 6 page “manuals” and go straight to hell. Check out these screens (at the official site), which promise (thankfully) deep-sea diving, wracked ships (even better than wrecked ships), swashbuckling (and by that, I mean vendor-terrorizing), moonlight cannonfire, and picturesque coves. These screens don’t look great, but I’m sure it’ll look real smooth on my monitor. Expect impressions soon (especially now that I’ve lost steam in Guerrilla, with 1 or 2 missions to go), along with more complaining about How things used to be. And my Ship and her Shape, I suppose? Until then.

2 Responses to “Age of Pirates 2: City of Abandoned Ships”

  1. Sam said

    It’s a damn shame that this game turned out to be, well, what it is. So much excitement, so little follow-through.

  2. deckard47 said

    Yes… I’ll keep trying, but so far, there’s no foreseeable reward for my time. Sad.

Leave a Reply

 
