Delayed Responsibility

I Shouldn't Be Gaming Right Now… But I Am!

Aliens + Guybrush = Win

Posted by deckard47 on May 20, 2009

I know what you’re thinking. It must be one of those days if he’s posting this early. No, it’s not. Not yet. Instead, it’s a day when, upon boarding the internet, I find two very cool things. The first is what is apparently the first AvP (new edition) screen to be released (via Joystiq). Check it out:

Sweet Fancy Moses

I hope, as Joystiq says, that this is indeed a screenshot. If it is, then it’s going to look good, at least. I’m suddenly excited for the prospect of a game featuring aliens and space marines that isn’t a 3rd person shooter, and doesn’t have anything to do with CliffyB. Count me in as hopeful? Apparently more news and screens will be released as the day progresses. Looking forward to it.

In a great bit of news (and if you don’t think it’s great, then leave now), Joystiq tentatively reports that The Secret of Monkey Island may be coming to XBLA. Would that not be sweet? It’s not confirmed yet, but it’s something nice to think about.

If you’re lucky, I’m going to do some Stalker: Call of Pripkyat linking/talking later today. I know you’re looking forward to that!

Update: Indeed, we now have a teaser trailer at Joystiq and a two new screens (one from Predator PoV, and for the Alien). You know I’ll be playing the Alien exclusively. Here you go, all of you who remember Monolith’s absolutely brilliant second outing for the series with fondness. Still the most interesting, fun multiplayer FPSs I’ve ever played, hands down. I doubt the servers are still up (and it wouldn’t look quite as sweet as it used to), but if they were, I would go online and hop about as the Alien, just because.

Pokey!

4 Responses to “Aliens + Guybrush = Win”

  1. Some fans of yours were wondering, what the fuck is up with the sexy Sheva Alomar pop/vector art bullshit gracing the front page of GameSetWatch right now? Who the fuck is Eric Caoili?

    • deckard47 said

      Oh. no. The internet makes me want to turn off my brain. I have no idea who that is, and I’ll have you know that I am as low on the GSW food chain as a person can be (I think, I can’t look up or down, so I don’t know who’s below me or who’s above me). But that is just so dumb. It’s strange for GSW especially, normally the Seksy fan art is not their thing.

  2. Left 4 Dead with some professors and bloggers tonight if you still have the disc for the 360!

    • deckard47 said

      Wow I would like to. Whenish? I should be able to get out from under work long enough to play a round or two. I haven’t tried the “new” campaigns yet, to be honest.

Leave a Reply

 
