Delayed Responsibility

I Shouldn't Be Gaming Right Now… But I Am!

Tower Defence Is Great

Posted by deckard47 on May 14, 2009

I guess there’s somebody to blame for this, somewhere, but recently I’ve found that the games that I’m most excited about (besides good old Clear Sky, of course, which I’m actually getting kind of annoyed with) are tower defense games. There’s Plants Vs. Zombies, which is just amazing, in case you were wondering. It’s not frustrating, it’s never overly hard, and it’s constantly entertaining, amusing, and fun. I always think I’m ahead of the computer, and then it throws something new at me (like those damn Snorkel zombies). I’m somewhere in chapter 3, I think (maybe?), and I’m nowhere near done with it.

At the same time, I just recently downloaded Defense Grid: The Awakening, and I played about 5 minutes of it yesterday. Already, I’m liking it. The narrator and advisor is a long-dormant overly British AI, who is amusing to listen to, and the game looks fantastic. It involves a different kind of strategy from PvZ, as you can only place towers in pre-determined locations, not anywhere on a grid. I really need to play more of it to understand it and talk about it, but you should check out the demo for the music (which is ridiculously space-epic, in an old-fashioned movie way) and the voice-work (which is silly, but feels right for the setting).

Both of these games are available for cheap at Steam (as the above links will show you). I’m happy to say that these games are more fun for me than the bigger, fancier games I’ve been playing recently have been. Oh, and I imported Demon’s Souls from Play-Asia. It’s back ordered right now, due to huge demand, but I bought the general Asia release copy (not the Japanese version), so there will be English dialogue and text. Exciting!

Oh, and there are new articles up over there to the right. I really like the F.E.A.R. 2 article the best, to be honest, it’s been a while since I enjoyed writing about and playing a game so much (and at the same time). Anyway, there they are. Until next time.

6 Responses to “Tower Defence Is Great”

  1. Blargh your note on FEAR 2 made me realize I had missed out on 3 GameTopius reviews, 2 PopMatters Reviews, and a Diamond in the Rough Column. Kinda had to go into skim mode because I want to play some of them for myself and had no idea what was going on in the PC RTS ones (perhaps my next big investment needs to be a PC instead of a nicer receiver) 😛

    Good to see you’ve been so prolific!

    • deckard47 said

      Oh, and if you want PC RTSs, I hope my Elven Legacy review warned you well away. Not a pleasant experience in any way, shape or form. I just found out that I’m going to E3 for Gametopius, and I really really want to get an interview with DTP entertainment. They made the Divine Divinity games (which are amazing), Drakensang, and are making Venetica, which I am enamored of for no good reason. Go check out their site, they make really excellent and really bad European games. Shit, I just checked, and they made a game called Windchaser, which is some kind of air-ship based RTS. Why don’t I live in England!?

      • Awesome on the E3 thing, I wonder if they have scholarships like GDC does…

      • deckard47 said

        Scholarships? Do you mean paying for your trip to the show, or something else. I will apply for a scholarship even if it’s specifically *not* for me.

      • Well for GDC there’s a scholarship that’s for kids in game design programs, it’s through IGDA education SIG I think. I doubt there’s one for E3 though, since it’s pure trade and insanity.

  2. deckard47 said

    Hah, yes prolific, and still behind on every damn thing. Write, write, write. I need my own version of The Shining.

Leave a Reply

 
