Delayed Responsibility

I Shouldn't Be Gaming Right Now… But I Am!

Impressions/Blog Related: Crysis, Solid Gears

Posted by deckard47 on April 21, 2009

Tried out Crysis for the second time (in a year) on the new computer. It’s interesting to watch how (after you get over the fancy effects and everything) it’s Far Cry all over again. Weirdly, Ubi took Far Cry‘s open ended approach to tactical combat and took it to its logical conclusion (huge open grasslands and deserts + free-form combat and missions), while Crytek stuck to their guns, soldiers, and aliens. I don’t dislike it, in fact, for the same reasons I like Far Cry and Far Cry 2, I like furtively shooting soldiers in the head and hiding in the lush jungles. However, It doesn’t have the RPG or wide-open aspects that draw me to FC2, so I’m curious to see how long I’ll be sticking with it. As it is, it’s distracting, but not enough to make me forget Vizima.

Going to start MGS4 tonight, if it’s the last thing I do. I guess I should be careful what I say about it? I’d be willing to bet some of our regular readers are fans. Maybe. Seriously though, if one person says something about “love on the battlefield,” I will turn the game off. Or not. I feel like I’m predisposed to hate this game, what with me hating its stealth mechanics (that is, the MGS series’ stealth mechanics), characters, writing, and posturing. Still, reading the Eurogamer review, I think I owe it to some part of myself (the foolish part?) to give it a shot. Wish me luck.

The Dark Spire is in the mail. Where is it! I want it here now! Does that not look like the coolest thing ever? I should go, I need to write reviews, play games, pay bills, and other exciting stuff. Later.

OH! And look at what happened during The Witcher last night. I thought I could show you how amazing it looked, but instead I took a screen of this…

Scream!

2 Responses to “Impressions/Blog Related: Crysis, Solid Gears”

  1. A dungeon crawler? Are you fucking insane? Those games were awesome when I was 12 because my attention span was as long as my dick. But my dick’s gotten bigger since then! I’ll never get you single-player RPG kids, despite having been one for almost two decades.

  2. deckard47 said

    I’ll be honest with you: I’ve never played this kind of game before in my life. I didn’t have a computer back in the day, so this will be the first time I get my hands on one. I hope I’m not going to be disappointed, despite what you say.

Leave a Reply

 
