Delayed Responsibility

I Shouldn't Be Gaming Right Now… But I Am!

Peggle, Again, Briefly

Posted by deckard47 on March 17, 2009

Peggle: Dual Shot is, unsurprisingly, a whole lot of fun. If you’ve played it, you know about the incredibly addictive “ding” of the ball hitting a peg (a sound which has transitioned wonderfully  to the DS), you know the mini-Ode to Joy that plays when you finish, and you know the weird characters and sound effects. All in all, it’s just as fun as it was before, only now it can fit in my hand. This is the kind of game I’ve been craving on the DS for a long time: something that I actually want to play in brief sessions, not something that I can play in brief sessions. My only problem so far is a weird one: the Pegs don’t glow as prettily or as brightly on the DS… Like I said, what a weird problem to have. Tomorrow I’ll take the skateboarding squirrel all the way to the finish. Exciting.

2 Responses to “Peggle, Again, Briefly”

  1. Simon Ferrari said

    I got Peggle for the XNA. It is delightful, though frustrating. Too many times I’ve ended up with one orange peg to hit after 15 minutes of tense bouncing, just to have to start the level over again because of a freak bounce off the basket. Good design, sad Simon. These are the later levels I’m talking about, of course.

  2. deckard47 said

    Yeah, it has that element of surprise and randomness that can get to you, when you know you played a good game but you didn’t win because none of your bounces got lucky. Then again, exactly the opposite happens sometimes. And the bouncing just sounds so good.

Leave a Reply

 
