Delayed Responsibility

I Shouldn't Be Gaming Right Now… But I Am!

News, Kinda

Posted by deckard47 on March 14, 2009

So I saw two or three things I wanted to link to, so I’m going to link to them. I know it’s not very fancy, but I don’t care. Here we go:

First, Simon over at Chungking Espresso has a cool piece up about Left 4 Dead up. He’s been writing about it for a while, but I haven’t mentioned it, because I’m silly. This one is about the rhythm of Left 4 Dead. See? Go look!

Second! Over at Acid for Blood (I hate saying “over,” it makes it sound like I’m bestest buddies with the site and it’s writer… I’ll say something new from now on. After this one) Brinstar has quickly and carefully explained why the “racism expert” guy who got mentioned a ton recently is mostly full of it (and why everyone else is full of it for believing him). Like I said, her points are good, and she makes a strong argument, so go check it out. Regarding that “informed expert,” who thought that it was cool to have one dude pronounce a piece of entertainment racist or not, and have that be the final word? Hell, if you want that, I can go read Chris Redfield’s palm for the answers, or look for them in the tea leaves or something else that’s “informed” as much as this guy was. Oh, and his conclusions were shit anyway. Onward.

Third, I guess the Escapist found some site that is worried about the PC version of The Game of Life teaching their kids about homosexuality?

“My daughter noticed right away (even before I did) and clicked on one of the girls instead of one of the men and then asked, ‘Mom, how come I can marry a woman?’ And then that led into a lot more questions that, quite frankly, I was not ready to talk to my 6-year-old about.”

Oh noes. Seriously though, those are tough questions. How can it be done? Do we have the resources? Can we rebuild him? I’m glad that The Game of Life is stepping up in this area to be honest. Like the author of the Escapist article who posted this gem, I always thought that game was creepy and centered around things I disliked (marriage, houses, investments, and more words I didn’t understand). One assumes that this Christian site doesn’t know about Army of Two yet. When they do, it’s going to be a real blow, I think.

Oh, and last and least, there is a review of Skate 2 over at Popmatters, courtesy of myself. I think it’s actually pretty good (you know how I normally write), and if you crave writings about Skate 2, and haven’t purchased the game yet, check it out. Also, I have a new article up at GameSetWatch. It’s about Alone in the Dark, again, for which I apologize. Still, it’s moderately entertaining, I think. It’s time for me to wrap this up, because it’s almost Paella time. Rocking.

2 Responses to “News, Kinda”

  1. Simon Ferrari said

    Yeah that guy was an idiot. The idea of claiming some white British anthropologist instead of, say, Nelson Mandela was the world’s leading authority on racism was just beyond ridiculous. Also, “mythemes are old, so they’re not racist” … fuck.

    On the other hand, I kinda disagree with Brinstar’s own sentiment from some Brainy Gamer comments that white people need to check to see what POC have written about an issue before discussing its race content themselves. Still, I see where she’s coming from… so it’s either me being defensive or just not digging her somewhat aggressive writing style (though what else would one expect from a blog called “acid for blood?”).

  2. deckard47 said

    Yeah, he was a ludicrous person, and he really did just repeat the “I don’t think it’s racist because it’s meant to be a scary West African town, and if you’re trying to scare people it’s alright” argument like times. As if the desire to scare someone in a game excuses the use of offensive/racist imagery and tropes. Oh experts, you’re so cute when you’re wrong.

    I think it’s easy to be defensive in the position you’re speaking about (and since I haven’t happened upon the exchange your talking about, I dunno), especially depending how she worded her response and how the back and forth went. I guess I think that if someone thinks anybody needs to check something, there’s always an easier, less abrasive way to do it. Then again, I’d be willing to bet that a lot of people disagree with me and think that politeness (and the calls for more polite conversation) is something leveraged by people who are privileged enough to have the luxury of politeness when arguing about these issues.

    Either way, I like being nice to people and non-threatening in general when arguing, because I’m scared of confrontation; doesn’t matter if its with someone at work or my cat. Oh, and I have to say I’m jealous of the name of her blog… Although I guess I could call mine something else from the movies. Nothing comes to mind that wouldn’t sound cheap. I mean, I bet there’s 50 “Nuke the Site from Orbit” sites. ALSO, I just sent a Gamefly game back, so I’ll be getting Left 4 Dead soon, if Gamefly pulls through.

Leave a Reply

 
