Delayed Responsibility

I Shouldn't Be Gaming Right Now… But I Am!

GTA IV (no really) and Killzone 2

Posted by deckard47 on February 27, 2009

Spent this evening doing two things: playing GTA IV with some fellow Gametopius types (I’d call us a crew, but there were 3 or 4 of us, so…), and writing. The writing went alright (at least I’m done for now), and the GTA IV was surprisingly awesome. It’s not hard to see where the multiplayer does stuff right. Loads of cops, guns, and pedestrians (plus a bunch of people running around taking out the cops) leads to some fun times. However, when the game isn’t doing that it really falters online. I mean, even in that game, I had some problems, like when things turned into a slideshow… every 5 minutes. I understand that  they made a great technical achievement with this game. I just wish it was appreciable in something a bit faster than stop-motion animation. Anyway, we had a good time, and I might actually do GTA IV multiplayer again.Crazy, I know.

On my other note, I’ve been watching Killzone 2 download for a while now. It is going extremely slowly. Let me just say, this is a department where the 360 rocks the PS3 up and down the block (you might even say that it Kid Rocks the PS3 up and down the block. Maybe). When I opened up GTA IV today, it told me it had an update to install. It did it in about a minute. Last time I had to update any PS3 game, the download to an hour at least. And that’s not counting the “install time” of at least an extra hour. They are really falling behind in this area. Getting online content from PSN is like squeezing blood from a stone. But it takes longer.

On a sadder (less up-to-date) note, it looks like Obsidian’s Aliens RPG has been canned (or at least shelved) by Sega. This kills me, because I know that they can write great dialogue, and plug that dialogue in to amazing stories. I have no idea how that wold have fit into the Aliens universe, but I trust these guys, for all their faults. I’d be willing to bet that they would have created some amazing characters, and those characters would have really inhabited Ripley’s world. I want to say that I’m really excited for their Alpha Protocol. Obsidian makes games where dialogue can be the boss, where a level’s ultimate encounter is a heated conversation. I love them, and I hope that they keep on rocking, and that luck (or whatever they need) comes their way. I’d like to make a comment about a game being over, man, but I’m just not in the mood. Perhaps I’ll say that Obsidian should just take off and nuke Sega from orbit. You know why.

Leave a Reply

 
