Delayed Responsibility

I Shouldn't Be Gaming Right Now… But I Am!

Dante’s Inferno

Posted by deckard47 on February 24, 2009

Not much to say about this game or the new trailer, besides “looks cool, wonder if it’ll hold up to actual playing.” I will admit that it does have a head start in the me liking it department, especially over good old God of War. I mean, Dante must have something more to say than “I am the God of Waaaaaarrrrrrrr!” I want to mention again that every time I did that ringed Poseidon lightning shit, Kratos would yell that. It was so fucking dumb. Or he’d just roar. It was like controlling an angry William Riker: huge, frothing, dangerous, insufferable. Anyway, the monsters look interesting (especially the last room full of tentacle sponge mouths). Finally, as Owen pointed out, Wayne Barlowe (of awesome Barlowe’s Expedition fame), is working on the art and creatures. Let me just say, check out this book, its like Dinatopia in space but creepy. Anyway, must be going back to work, but this looked kinda cool, so I thought I’d bring it up (plus, I am the God of Waaaaaaaawwwwwr!).

3 Responses to “Dante’s Inferno”

  1. Simon Ferrari said

    So as somebody who was a classicist for four years, and has actually read Paradiso and Purgatorio, I’m surprised to say that this actually look decent. Dante was a knight, so it makes sense to cast his as a warrior here. I would have preferred if they made all the weapons look like era-proper Italian weapons, but whaddyagonnado. The game was already pretty much designed for them, considering the book is broken up into levels with a boss at the end of each.

    As long as you don’t kill Satan to free Beatrice at the end (which I’m afraid is going to happen, unless they think Purgatory and Paradise would make good games… flying through space and talking to Saints for ten hours?) I’ll be happy.

    God of War leaves a bad taste for me because, like that bullshit Troy movie, they just kind of shit all over mythology. Killing Ares makes sense to me in the first one… Hercules and Xena did the same thing a few years ago on TV, you know? But offing Athena is ridiculous, and killing the rest of the gods in the next game even more so.

    Unless by some miracle they use it to explain why nobody worships the Greek gods anymore: “And then Kratos killed himself… again… to show men that they needed no gods.”

  2. Simon Ferrari said

    Oh and the scene at the end of the trailer with the Hieronymous Bosch mouth demons was fucking incredible.

  3. deckard47 said

    Yeah, those mouths were pretty impressive, they grow on me every time I watch it. Now I want to go back and play Dead Space again, just to remember what I liked and didn’t like about it.

Leave a Reply

 
