Delayed Responsibility

I Shouldn't Be Gaming Right Now… But I Am!

PoP DLC!

Posted by deckard47 on January 29, 2009

Now, aside from the fact that I am initially very excited by this, I was confused by the way they discussed this at Kotaku:

as one of the aforementioned people left feeling a little bummed by the way the main game ended, the prospect of actually finishing the story may prove too good to pass up, cheap marketing ploy or not.

Um. Forgive me, but I thought the story finished how it wanted to. [SPOILER SO WATCH OUT] The Prince decides to save Elika, thus unleashing Ahriman on the world (as the giant screaming skull of sand tearing past the two in the final shot would attest). It seems to me that the second game could then focus on the two righting the Prince’s mistake, and facing Ahriman once and for all. This time, maybe they could find a different way to imprison him, or maybe one of them wold have to give their lives again to defeat him. The only reason yo might be angry is because they didn’t let you choose (that is, if you don’t read Michael Abbott’s take on the ending) how to end it. I’m sorry, I know it’s a game, but I like the fact that they had the courage to tell the story how they wanted to. I know it’s “less like games should be,” but its also “a better ending than most big games this year,” so I’ll take my ending. [ENDING NOW]. How is that shit ambiguous. I mean, I’m not a fan of Halo endings, but I think that it’s acceptable for the big bad to escape to fight another day, especially if the way the characters confront him might change due to the decisions they’ve made. I dunno, it just seems to me like the conclusion was pretty good, from all standpoints. It seems to me, that if you have DLC that changes the ending, it lessens the narrative force of the original ending (not that a lot of people would care about doing that, obviously). So I guess we’ll see.

EDIT: So Joystiq has an actually informative preview of the new DLC up, and as long as they don’t fuck with the ending, this could be rocking. We get a new enemy, the Shapeshifter (which should be spoken in the Helium-Strindberg voice, I think), a new 5-tiered dungeon (I hope), new moves for the Prince and Elika, and more character development between the two. Call me a sucker, but a lot of that sounds right up my alley. Oh, and thank the Lord, they’ve upgraded the difficulty. ‘Cause that shit was just out of hand before. And by that I mean it was not difficult enough. Not enough for me. No sir.

3 Responses to “PoP DLC!”

  1. chungkingespresso said

    Saw the Joystiq article, and came right here. I have mixed feelings about this dlc too. I’m happy for new dungeons, enemies, and abilities – but I have the same reservations about them changing the ending. Also, the Shapeshifter boss sounds like kind of a cop-out from the Joystiq description.

    In other news, I completed my first 3d modeling project (it’s on my blog now), and I have to write a four-page analysis of a screenshot from a videogame as if it’s a movie still. I’m thinking of screengrabbing a shot from Left 4 Dead right as I turn my flashlight on and piss off a Witch in a darkened room.

  2. moromete said

    I agree they did a good job of setting up a new game with the ending, but why did they need to hide it all after the Credits? That’s a sign of uncertainty…

  3. deckard47 said

    Sounds pretty excellent, the idea of creating a 3D image like that Buck Rogers gun is alarmingly complicated. The Witch idea is pretty brilliant. When she wakes up, there is that moment of anticipation before she kicks your ass.

Leave a Reply

 
