Delayed Responsibility

I Shouldn't Be Gaming Right Now… But I Am!

Mawre Speed?

Posted by deckard47 on January 27, 2009

Yes, bad pun. I apologize. I figure I should leave most of thoughts on this one for the review, but I would like to communicate the fact that this game is slow. An I don’t just mean “Oh, you better like Bogart movies and slow pacing and fewer explosions” slow. No, I mean, “when I realized I had to backtrack  a level, I almost cried” slow. No kidding, that’s how excruciating this game can be. In its defense, I shouldn’t have had to backtrack (I forgot to eat some slugs), but still, the fact that a tiny map takes loooong minutes to cross, awkwardly, really annoys me. It is now time to dive back into Penumbra. I know, scary. But, I promised myself I’d make serious headway today, like serious portion of the game headway. Wish me luck.

Oh, and while the idea of NPH and Gob playing hammy video game characters amuses me a good deal (“hermano!”), their game Eat Lead just doesn’t look that fantastic. I mean, I know that it’s tongue in cheek, but is there anything to this game besides the tongue and the cheek (and Arnett and Harris)? I guess we’ll find out, right? By the way, just saw the co-op RE5 video over at GT. Let me say, I’m still creeped out by the setting/enemies and their apparent lack of knowledge regarding what game it looks like they’re making (and I’m not exactly expecting them to prove me wrong). BUT. That co-op looks hot. Seriously, the gameplay is still slow and 2005 looking (ok, guys, I know that we love the new RE formula, but who actually thinks this isn’t going to play like racist RE4 in a mysterious African country? Yes, real-time inventory manipulation… Oh wait, RE5 inventory, meet Dead Space inventory, UI, everything. Slap to the face.), but it looks like just the kind of co-op play I could get down with (as I’m want to do). If only they’d just included this in RE4, I could play it happily…

2 Responses to “Mawre Speed?”

  1. chungkingespresso said

    Happened to me on the lazy-beam stage. There’s like 92 things to eat in that one, and I missed a trooper collapsed on the ground at the beginning of the stage. 20 minutes of wandering a map it would take Mario 20 seconds to traverse. Die in a fire, game. Still need 100% eaten on the Bee-tull stage. But it’s time for me to 3d model a raygun for class and maybe do some Fallout 3 DLC.

    • deckard47 said

      Yeah, it was the hopping air balloon mission for me. I got to the end (I hadn’t realized that you could smush the trees and rocks), and whenever I tried to get on the grass, stupid Maw would waggle his tongue and do a thought bubble. It took me half an hour of bouncing all over the damn place to realize the trees and rocks were breakable…

Leave a Reply

 
