Delayed Responsibility

I Shouldn't Be Gaming Right Now… But I Am!

Dark Dragon Eye-Blood

Posted by deckard47 on January 22, 2009

So I’ve spent the last couple of hours with Drakensang (and Skate 2, which is proving to be more frustrating than I could have possibly imagined), and I’m here to tell you about it (because those previews I linked you to weren’t awesome enough for me). It’s an interesting game, and an interesting world. It definitely enjoys exploring a very European take on certain aspects of the general medieval fantasy ethos. This means that there are characters whose professions literally reads “mountebank.” I don’t need to tell you (I hope) that this pleased me immensely. As far as the actual game goes, it’s a bit slow for my tastes. Especially in outdoor areas, you characters can be a bit sluggish. I would often tell them to walk to another part of the map (far away, but still visible), and go get a drink in the time it took them to get there. I love the art, the tone and hue of the world, and the look of the monsters and heroes.

What I don’t love is the fact that there’s a ton of text in the game, and only the opening lines of dialogue for every character are voiced, in the demo. I’m really hoping that they’ll get everything voiced, as this always makes games more interesting to me. The leveling system in place here is extremely complex and deep, with lots of skills, talents, spells, crafting, and other character facets. To my horror, the demo only allows you to play as a ranger (elven) or warlock (human?), neither of which is adept at the conversational arts. This put a damper on my style, but lckily, there’s only been one chance to convince someone of something using a skill. I really hope that they make skill-based dialogue a constant factor in the final game, and I’m sure they will, since several main talents are focused on speech. Aside from all that, the party control system is a bit clmsy as of right now. Still, it’s obvious that a lot of these problems can be worked out before it drops next month (especially since this is not a terribly recent English demo). So let’s all cross our fingers and hope for a safe journey over the Atlantic.

Oh, and because Skate 2 put me in a funny mood, what with its bizarre (and not especially intuitive, despite what everybody else says) control scheme and villainous characters (and character creator). I needed something awesome to cheer me up. Luckily for me, youtube came to the rescue. Let me just say, that Saif Ali Khan is kind of a villain. Anyway, I promise a post soon about something that isn’t German or Bollywood-related (although I know that there’s a significant portion of my readers who clamor for these two things).

Leave a Reply

 
