Delayed Responsibility

I Shouldn't Be Gaming Right Now… But I Am!

Everyone’s a Little Bit Racist (hey gamers and developers!)

Posted by deckard47 on October 20, 2008

So, I just ran across an article over at Kotaku that just blew me away. I’m gonna quote the post, because it’s too dumb to rewrite here:

Last week, Sony announced a worldwide recall and delay for LittleBigPlanet after two expressions from the Qur’an were discovered in the lyrics of one of the game’s licensed music tracks. The song is titled “Tapha Niang” off the album Boulevard de l’independance.

And here are the translations of the two lines (although I can’t say for sure):

1- In the 18th second: “كل نفس ذائقة الموت” (“kollo nafsin tha’iqatol mawt”, literally: ‘Every soul shall have the taste of death’).

2- Almost immediately after, in the 27th second: “كل من عليها فان” (“kollo man alaiha fan”, literally: ‘All that is on earth will perish’).

I understand that if those lines were in there when the game shipped, people would freak. I know that people would see this (correctly) as some strong imagery. I’m sure it would offend people, Muslims, Christians and others, for different reasons.

But this is how they worded it:

“During the review process prior to the release of LittleBigPlanet, it has been brought to our attention that one of the background music tracks licensed from a record label for use in the game contains two expressions that can be found in the Qur’an.”

Forgive, if you will, my cynicism, but I’m pretty sure that if there had been lyrics like that in a song (and the lyrics came from the Christian Bible), that there would be no recall. Because it would just be how it is. As always. No one would have a problem, because it’s ok if the Bible condemns things to death, but not ok if some other Religion’s holy book does the same? I understand the censorship, I do, but this still stinks of people being scared of Islam, and of Sony making a quick (but again, admittedly business-savy) move. It’s sad. When Resistance had a level set in Manchester Cathedral and the Church of England got angry, Sony told the C of E to get bent. Sweet.

Oh, and I’m sure I’m not supposed to say this, but it’s super catchy. I hope the rest of the soundtrack is this good. Late.

Leave a Reply

 
