Delayed Responsibility

I Shouldn't Be Gaming Right Now… But I Am!

Tuesday!

Posted by deckard47 on September 29, 2008

I’ve been trying to decide how I’ll end my night (CoD4, Yiddish Policemens’ Union, Icewind Dale II), when I happened upon Kotaku’s list of games being released this week. It turns out that this Thursday is when a lot of small-time, cheap PC games are being released. Their annoying weekend guy calls it all “shovelware,” and he’s partially right. Still, there are some very cool games coming out, so I thought I’d make my own, anti-clever-asshole list.

There’s actually a lot of interesting looking games, so I thought I’d post the ones that had cool screens next to the screens, and the rest in a lump at the bottom:

Disciples 3! I just found the second one, and I like it a lot, even though I am still having trouble playing well. It’s like HOMM, but a bit different, more individuals leveling up as opposed to armies. Check out the screens and coverage, it looks interesting. Doesn’t that screen just make you all nostalgic? Maybe?

Next up is Mount and Blade, a game I already mentioned, I think. It’s like Sid Meier’s Pirates!, only in the medievil times, and it tries to be a very exacting sword/horse combat sim. Woot. Here’s a picture that shows you how it doesn’t look pretty at all. Trust me, it’s fun.

Next we have Jagged Alliance 3. Now, to be honest, I haven’t played the first two games, but they sound really cool, and I think it’s neat that a third one is coming out (why does no one talk aboutt his?). Here it is, looking a bit like Silent Storm…

Finally, here is a cool adventure game called Nikopol: Secrets of the Immortals. Now wait, I know what you’re thinking, and you’re right: it’s another weird low-budget adventure game based on a series of French books and graphic novels! But it looks cool, like Blade Runner meets an adventure game set in the scary environs of AVP2 (the game!) Check out the review, and a picture. Yay!

Aside from those, there are a bunch of less (by a bit) exciting titles: Galactic Civilizations II:Endless Universe (expansion #3, I think), Sacred 2: Fallen Angel, and one final special guest. It’s a game based on an obscure (for Americans, mind you) French sport. It’s played by crusty old Frenchman in tiny and less tiny towns, and it’s like miniaturized lawn bowling, kinda sorta not (I just know some French people are going to kill me now). Yes, you know you’ve been waiting for it, Petanque Party is coming to the PC! Did I just blow you mind? Or did this guy:

Leave a Reply

 
