Delayed Responsibility

I Shouldn't Be Gaming Right Now… But I Am!

Good Old Times

Posted by deckard47 on September 26, 2008

So I have a post here, and let me just say, I totally stole the idea from a Kotaku post about old game intro cinematics. Here’s a link to it, it’s not a bad article, and I pretty much agree with him. But the point of this post is to link to a whole lot of really cool intro cinematics that I loved.

First up (and one of my all-time favorite videos from the beginning to a game: Dungeon Keeper. What does this trailer not have? A badass soundtrack, an awesome sound effect when the Bile Demon appears, a double shot of the decapitation… Just amazing.

Next up is another favorite of mine (a guilty pleasure, really): Rebel Assault 2. It starts with a cool mouse droid’s eye view of a Star Destroyer, and moves from there to two bad actors with funny accents, and from those two guys to a cool surprise attack on some bantering X-Wing pilots. Solid.

Now, to visit another classic: Fallout. Not only was this video cool and retro but it has a great long reveal, and an excellent voiceover by Ron Pearlman. It’s serious when it needs to be, and reminds you that somebody did that whole retro-chic thing before Bioshock (and did it well).

I guess I’ve kind of saved my true favorite for last, but it deserves all the attention it can get. What is it? Monkey Island 3’s intro, of course! This thing blew me the fuck away, especially considering Owen and I had to mess around with Direct X 5 and our video card (oh, the good old days!) for a month to get it working. I love the map blowing away, I love that music, and Guybrush Threepwood is so amazingly excellent and funny that I can’t even describe him to you. Check it out, or else.

There are others, but these stick in my head the most. Owen says I haven’t seen nothin till I see the Full Throttle intro/game, which I’ve never played. Sorry, sorry! He stated that it “might be one of the top 10 games for him,” which is amazing, since such a statment reveals that he thinks of things in top 10’s, ever, which must eat him up on the inside. Like acid. Anyway, gonna go pretend to work some more now.

One Response to “Good Old Times”

  1. Sam said

    Uh, I think of almost everything, at least sometimes, in top 10 lists.

Leave a Reply

 
