Delayed Responsibility

I Shouldn't Be Gaming Right Now… But I Am!

I Like the Way You Think

Posted by deckard47 on September 3, 2008

So the posting has been light since I started my day job. Or maybe it’s only been a day or two? Feels like a while. I decided to come out of my self-imposed silence for two reasons: first, I saw an Aion video, and suddenly, I’m interested in the game. The video shows us one of the higher level characters with their angel wings, flying around the landscapes. It’s really looking cool, and if you can actually fly like this in the game, I might actually check it out.

Second, I think I should tell you that I have an article that will be coming out on GameSetWatch this Friday. Exciting! But, I was watching this Far Cry 2 video, and I was amazed to see that the guy being interviewed was talking about exactly what I talked about in my article. In fact, if I had seen this video weeks ago, my article would have been so different. Basically, he argues that one way to heighten “immersion” (that much-hyped, often badly implemented game design cliche), it is important to constantly remind the character of her avatar’s physicality and presence in the game world, as a creature with mass and a noticeable game world footprint. Seriously, check out this video, I’m even more excited for this game now. They’re on to something, the same thing Eden was onto in Alone in the Dark. Pay attention everybody, these people know what they’re fucking doing. I can’t stress enough how dead on they are with these ideas.

Leave a Reply

 
