Delayed Responsibility

I Shouldn't Be Gaming Right Now… But I Am!

Gaming Again

Posted by deckard47 on August 14, 2008

So now that I am about half moved in, the games are once more being spun in their trays. I’ve taken a look at Burnout again, and looked longingly at Alone in the Dark, but so far the two games I have played seriously have been Braid and Eschalon Book I (from Basilisk Games). Braid is pretty fantastic, despite few issues. It blows your fucking mind, and (amusingly) takes a postmodern approach to the old princess rescuing game mechanic/story. It works, mostly, and everyone should play it. Maybe more on that later (although I hope to turn it into an actual article, so who knows). Also, the next Blog Banter is a pretty neat topic, I think, so I hope you all check out my posts and everybody else’s.

Eschalon is an old school RPG that Tycho (PA guy) recommended a couple of days ago in a post. They’re selling it through their Steam-like Greenhouse website. It’s an interesting game, and it tickles that old RPG fan in me, the one who I let out for Fallout and BG2 runs every once in a while. I’d say check out the demo, if you’ve ever wanted to turn the clock back to before Bioware and Black Isle ruled the Western RPG. In the game, you have awesome stats, amnesia, and guys are out to get you. Cool stuff.

Leave a Reply

 
