Delayed Responsibility

I Shouldn't Be Gaming Right Now… But I Am!

Back in the saddle, or something – also, Dragon Age!

Posted by deckard47 on July 7, 2008

Well, I’ve been busy (and by that I mean lazy) recently, so there haven’t been any posts. But now, what a post you shall have! Maybe.

To kick things off, check out these cool new PoP screens.

Look, a fight! Plus, your amusingly (why, always with the seksy clothings?) clad companion? I must admit, I still expect this to be good. They did me wrong with Warrior Within, but I think they can pull this one off.

Now, a quick movie update (since this is a movie blog).

Wanted: dumb, offensive, badly acted, directed, and written. Much too faithful to the (offensive, stupid, stupid) source material. Only good thing about it was Angelina Jolie. She actually appeared to want to be playing the role she was playing. As opposed to Morgan Freeman, who is cashing in and getting out. Good for him.

Hancock: interesting plot and characters hidden in there somewhere, but any time these elements surfaced, they were quickly forced back down by hideously stupid and offensive jokes (a hint: racism, homophobia, misogyny and prison rape are hi-larious).

Definitely Maybe: super good. Like totally. It’s funny, well acted, it’ll make you cry, or something, maybe. Go rent it, before you see fucking Wanted or Hancock. Please?

Time for games again, I guess. I’ve been playing a lot of games lately, but I haven’t completed any, so here goes: Devil May Cry 4 is as stupid as it looks, and tough, and only kind of fun. I don’t think I can stick with this one for long. Boom Blox is fantastic, it really is a great combination of Jenga, explosions, and other exciting things. Be warned: after my first night of intensive play, I awoke with an incredibly sore arm. My brothers suffered from the same ailment. Pathetic, I know. This game will rock your arm.

Dead Space is looking more and more like boring shit. There are these comic/video prequel things up on Gametrailers. Notice how the way game developers telegraph how “serious” their plot is is by saying fuck a lot. Like a ton. Also, remember (the guys who made this game really like to point this out), this game will be scary, because it has outer space, and dark, and blood guys. Plus, the cover of the game has a severed hand!. Shit be crazy. I don’t know if I can handle that level of terror.

I downloaded the demo for Ninja Gaiden 2, and it still retains its made-by-5-year olds feel (just watch the cutscene). BUT, it also includes crazy combat that is actually fun (as this game’s opposite, check out DMC 4’s combat). Gamefly it is. Sadly, I cannot give the same praise to Indiana Jones Lego edition. Its just as clumsy as the Star Wars games, and the Lego gimmick doesn’t make up for shitty gameplay.

Looking forward, several things excite me. Fable 2 is still looking cool to me (although it could be a load of bullshit, all of it, including that silly dog), I’ll be checking it out when it hits. I long for Penny Arcade Episode 2, especially because we have the tantalizing hat spider to look at. Oh, and S.T.A.L.K.E.R. Clear Sky? Makes me want a good computer, so much. I might have to rent Too Human, just because it might not suck . Although I am amused and disappointed by the seksy Norse cyberpunk strip club featured in the new trailer. Is this what we’ve come to? Strangely, I’ve been playing Oblivion again, and almost as a strangely, I am looking forward to Fallout 3. I shouldn’t. I should crush my hope like a spider, and throw it in the trash. Poor hope.

In the “not cool” box, we can file Civilization IV: Colonization. Doesn’t the entire premise of this game make you uncomfortable/disgusted? I mean, at least in Civ., lots of civilizations from all over get to rock out. Here, you’re colonizing the New World. Oh boy! Oh wait…

Halo Wars slouches toward its release date, spewing forth a vile batch of screens. Am I the only one puzzled by this game? Halo and its sequels have many good qualities. Please tell me we can all agree that you would not number plot, writing or acting among those good qualities. Seriously? It’s as unoriginal as the newest “Scary Movie” movie, I can think of a billion games with more interesting universes than Halo. Why not make an RTS out of those worlds? I would rather see Force Commander 2 than Halo Wars. I mean that.

Dragon Wars might show up at E3 this year. Please, please please, let this happen. I need something to keep me sane. I want so badly to create an evil female dwarf, have her fight her way up from the slums of the dwarf kingdom (as opposed to a dwarf character with a rich background, who would start in a different and more opulent part of the kingdom, thanks to Bioware’s backstory/gameplay integration. Did I just blow your mind…?), and choose whether to cast a dark pall over the land, or rescue everybody from (some kind of) evil shadow bad guys. I suspect she might have to be evil. Just maybe.

Finally, I’m back into Baldur’s Gate 2. I’m hopeless. Here’s to my Chaotic Neutral Swashbuckler, may she defeat that dirty Irenicus.

Leave a Reply

 
