Delayed Responsibility

I Shouldn't Be Gaming Right Now… But I Am!

Mass Effect, Paragon Style

Posted by deckard47 on June 24, 2008

I actually have a whole bunch of things I want to write about, but I can’t remember them right now. So I’ll just write about Mass Effect. I just finished my second playthrough, on Hard mode, as a Soldier. Being a Soldier is boring, as long as you buy the special Specter gear and use the right ammo, you never die. Of course, watching mon frere play through the game, on Normal, as a Vanguard, I realized how incredibly hard the game is. Admittedly, he doesn’t try as hard to completely master silly and badly designed control schemes, but he still tries. At every turn, he is amazed by how weird the controls are, or how annoying a certain aspect of design is. And he’s never wrong. Still, since he played it for about 6 or 7 hours yesterday, he probably likes it, right? It’s impressive, I guess, how shitty their control scheme and documentation is (when he first flew out into the different star systems, I was reminded of a certain comic. They just shove you in there, and let you drown.

Anyway, as regards finishing the game as a good Commander Sheperd, it’s a totally different experience. When you [SPOILER – SPOILER – SPOILER] choose whether or not to kill the council [END SPOILER], the repercussions are huge. I mean, I realized that it might change how you have that last conversation, but I didn’t realize that it would change the people involved in that way. Very, very cool. So, the question is, what character class next? I’m thinking Engineer or Adept, just because it’ll be a big change from soldier. I guess we’ll see. Any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

 
